Postcards From Abroad

Not just another travel blog

3 Fun Things to do in Dublin, Ireland


By Jessica Albert

Hey readers,

It’s me Jessica and I would like to tell you some interesting facts and need-to-knows about Ireland.

The application deadline for JMU’s study abroad in Ireland was due on Tuesday. So for those of you who were able to get that in on time are some go-getting lucky ducks! However, for those of you who were a little slow on the uptake I still want to give you the oppourtunity of seeing what Ireland has to offer.

I found this article  that talks about some of the best places in Dublin you can’t miss when traveling there.

This is by far one of my favorites on the list. The legal drinking age in Ireland is definitely not 21 so most of us will be able to enjoy a trip to the Guiness Storehouse. The Storehouse is seven stories and from what I understand you can smell the brew from down the street!  Despite what you’re inital impression of this factory might be, the Storehouse is also filled with history. You can take a tour to see how the factory works and what goes into brewing Guiness beer. The tour also gives you a chance to get to know a little bit more about the history of the Guiness family. After your tour you can knock back a few and go to the top floor of the Storehouse for the best 360 degree view of Dublin. Beer is one of the staple beverages in Irish culture. So, that is why the Guiness factory is a can’t miss.

This is the Science Gallery in the St. Steven’s Green Neighboorhood of Dublin. The Science Center would be a great stop for any student traveling abroad in Ireland. Even the ones that hate science! The center is only two years old but has launched to be a phenomenal success because it is an interactive museum. The Science Gallery gives its visitors a very different experience. It allows you to partake in experiments within the facility. Not convinced? I wasn’t either to be quite honest. However, when I went to the Science Gallery’s YouTube Channel I really got into the place. The Youtube channel lets you see some of the experiments the the Gallery has to offer.

 

This final Dublin attraction is by far my favorite. The Viking Splash Tours are the most unique tour service I’ve ever heard of. You cannot miss the car/boat ride vehicles the tour service uses. They are like unlike any others. This activity is especially good for those who don’t have enough time to visited it all because it allows you to see it all. The tour takes you past attractions like St Patrick’s Cathedral,  Trinity College and Merrion Square. But, most importantly, the boat actually goes into the water of the Grand Canal to float past the U2 recording studio. How neat is that? All-in-all the tour is about 75 minutes long is is guided by a man dressed in a viking’s costume.

Alright readers, I hope that you found this post to be very appealing to you. It will give you many great and unique things to do if you ever choose to go to Dublin.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “3 Fun Things to do in Dublin, Ireland

  1. I really liked this week’s blog post. I learned a lot from posting it. I think Dublin would be a great city to travel to.
    I was a little worried about being the one to post on Fridays, however it was actually not that bad. I wrote my post yesterday and just posted it this morning. It was actually very easy to do.
    I hope to take my posts further. I have noticed how many study abroad locations there are. My goal by the end of the semester is to do a full day schedule for travelers.That way a person can just print my blog post off and stick it in their suitcase when they are traveling!
    For next week, I want to post all of the names of the possible study abroad locations here at JMU. Well, as many as I can name anyway–there are so many! That way students will know what is available to them.

    https://smad210blog.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/bosnawhere/
    This is the post I commented on. I really wanted to post within my own blog this week because I really, really liked wwhat Neal had to say. The Bosnia study abroad is brand spanking new and I wanted to spread my opinions on it. Next week I will definitely post outside of the blog.

Leave a Reply

